Case Study

Change Management

Challenge

More than 9% sickness rate and work-to-rule.

Staff motivation had reached bottom low at a hospital. Hierarchical thinking, staff shortage and low cooperation between wards were some of the problems management had identified as sources for the demotivation. Faced with such a complex situation the question was raised: Where to start the change process?

Solution

Identify the emotional needs and reveal their sources

The results of the individual LUXXprofiles of most of the employees showed a very high desire for social acceptance, structure and predictability. The hospital started to analyze the existing processes and adapted them. They also introduced a new staff roster system that was able to react faster on staff shortage. Medical and administrative staff also started to integrate ‘daily dosages of praise’ in their day-to-day dealings with their employees.

“Without the LUXXprofile we would have continued to examine the symptoms but would have never identified the reasons. Our cultural change finally got the direction right.”

Director of Medical and Health Care

Result

5 % less sickness rate and 10% higher employee satisfaction

KPIs improved within a few months. But the sustainable change in corporate culture was even more important for the management: Thinking along the LUXXprofile motives makes it easier to see the individual and to appreciate him or her in a much better way. Furthermore, employees are able to treat their patients respectfully on the basis of this attitude. As the situation and atmosphere in the hospital improved it became increasingly easier to find and employ qualified personnel.

Case Study

Change Management

Herausforderung

Mehr als 9 % Krankenstand und Dienst nach Vorschrift. 

In einem Krankenhaus war die Mitarbeitermotivation auf dem Tiefpunkt angelangt. Hierarchisches Denken, Personalmangel und geringe Kooperation zwischen den Stationen waren einige der Probleme, die das Management als Ursachen der Demotivation identifiziert hatte. Angesichts der komplexen Ausgangslage stellte sich die Frage: Wo mit der Veränderung anfangen?

Lösung

Die emotionalen Bedürfnisse ermitteln und deren Ursachen offen legen.

Die individuellen LUXXprofile ergaben, dass die meisten der Mitarbeiter ein hohes Bedürfnis nach Anerkennung, Ordnung und Vorhersehbarkeit hatten. Die Prozesse wurden daraufhin überprüft und angepasst sowie ein neues Dienstplansystem eingeführt, das eine schnellere Reaktion auf personelle Ausfälle zuließ. Die ärztlichen und die administrativen Leitungen fanden zudem Ansätze, um ihren Mitarbeitern im Alltag ihre individuelle „Dosis“ Lob zukommen zu lassen.   

„Wir haben mit dem LUXXprofile überhaupt erst eine Sprache gefunden. Ohne das LUXXprofile hätten wir an den Symptomen herumgedoktert, wären aber nicht zu den tatsächlichen Ursachen gestoßen. Unsere Kulturveränderung hatte endlich eine Richtung.“

Pflegedirektor

Ergebnis

5 % weniger Krankenstand und 10% mehr Mitarbeiterzufriedenheit. 

Die KPIs verbesserten sich innerhalb weniger Monate signifikant. Doch der Leitung ist die nachhaltige Kulturveränderung mindestens genauso wichtig: Das Denken in den LUXX-Motivkategorien erleichtert es, den einzelnen als Mensch zu sehen und wertzuschätzen. Mit dieser Haltung können die Mitarbeiter ihren Patienten respektvoll begegnen. Die verbesserte Atmosphäre im Krankenhaus hat sich herumgesprochen und führt dazu, dass qualifiziertes Personal eingestellt werden kann.